If there is anything as convoluted as the current AMA National numbering system, we don’t know what it really is. The foundation of the AMA system is.. nicely there is no foundation. Need examples? Former AMA National Champions get to choose a number between 2 and nine. Why not 2 and 10? Perhaps you should 2 until you run out of former National Champions.

Oh yeah, former National Champions don’t have to take a number between 2 and 9 if they don’t want to—even though those numbers are set aside to honor the Champions. Hence, you end up with AMA National Champions running high numbers (15, twenty two, 41).

Here’s an idea—Just inform them in the future to choose between 2 and whatever it takes until the honorary numbers are utilized up.

Then the AMA sets aside “career numbers” for a select group of riders who finished in the top ten in overall points at some point in their profession. Why a rider who made the top ten in total points will get a permanent number is a mystery. And, they don’t get to keep their particular career number if they don’t earn 25 points in the following season—unless of course somebody at the AMA enjoys them. Which probably accounts for the reason why there are more riders with career quantities than there are National Champions along with permanent numbers. Amazingly, 25 percent from the top 100 numbers are designated to someone before anyone on the AMA starts counting points—25% is usually big number. Even weirder, Mike Alessi gets to choose number eight hundred because he is “grandfathered in”—what are these claims the U. S. Senate? Have got Mike take a top 100 amount like everybody else who has been fined , penalized points and had their team manager banned from the series.

Common sense says that c

areer numbers should be dropped. The only long lasting numbers should be for former National Champs. Every rider after the Champions should get the number he gained by scoring points in that time of year. That’s simple. That’s the American way—which isn’t always the AMA way.

After handing out all of the career and perman ent quantities the AMA hands out National numbers to riders based on how numerous AMA points they earned (what we like to think of as the “actual AMA National numbers”), but nothing of these numbers actually jive using the rider’s actual place in the pecking order of the sport. They are all away from by one or two places (and they don’t give numbers to men who earned them if they had been visiting FIM Grand Prix riders—like Clement Desalle and Kevin Strij bos— even though they actually earned AMA National points). Plus, once you add in the former National Champions and the career numbers, the true-to-life earned points are out-of-sync with the real number of points.

And some rocket scientist at the AMA decided to count two hundred fifity East/West Supercross points for the AMA National numbers even though the East/West series is not a National Championship occasion, is not open to every rider, is usually divided into two separate regional series and has never been measured until some AMA powerbroker’s pal raced the 250 East… and he thought it would be nice to count number those points as “National” factors.

What next? Loretta Lynn factors?

The AMA can take cold comfo rt in the fact that Youthstream has a much worse numbering system—the ir Champions are amount 222 and 84. In simply no w ay is this g reat marketing of the series, the brand, the teams or image of the game. At least in America the number 1 men have number 1 on their bicycles. This makes the AMA 250/450 Champions instantly recognizable to the most casual TV viewer or number challenged fan.

Lastly, in conclusion, the AMA should allow former National Champions choose quantities starting a 2 until they run out of former National Champions (right now 6, 8 and 9 are not being used). After that, everyone else should get the number they actually deserve based on where they finished… not on where they finished in 2008.


(* Profession number, ** New career amount, *** former National Champion)

1 – 450SX/MX: Ryan Villopoto
1 – 250MX: Eli Tomac
one – 250SX West: Ken Roczen
1 – 250SX East: Wil Hahn
2: Thomas Villopoto
3: Eli Tomac
4: Blake Baggett
5: Ryan Dungey
7: James Stewart
10*: Justin Brayton
11*: Kyle Chisholm
12*: Jake Weimer
15***: Dean Wilson
16**: Zach Osborne
seventeen: Jason Anderson
18*: Jesse Millsaps
19: Jeremy Martin
20*: Broc Tickle
21: Cole Seely
22***: Chad Reed
23: Wil Hahn
24*: Brett Metcalfe
25*: Marvin Musquin
26*: Michael Byrne
27*: Nick Wey
28*: Tyla Rattray
29*: Andrew Short
30: Kyle Cunningham
31: Martin Davalos
32: Justin Bogle
33*: Josh Grant
34: Malcolm Stewart
35: Justin Hill
36: Blake Wharton
thirty seven: Cooper Webb
38: Phil Nicoletti
39: Ryan Sipes
40: Weston Peick
41***: Trey Canard
42: Vince Friese
43: Joey Savatgy
44: Matt Goerke
45: Darryn Durham
46: Adam Cianciarulo
47: Kyle Peters
48: Bill Lamay
49: Gavin Trust
50: Jessy Nelson
51*: Justin Barcia
fifty two: Cole Thompson
53: Puncture Vincent
54: Christian Craig
55: Alex Martin
56: James Decotis
57: AJ Catanzaro
58: Travis Baker
59: P. L. Larsen
60: Jackson Richardson
61: Austin Politelli
62: Mitchell Oldenburg
63: Bobby Kiniry
64: Les Smith
65: Zach Freeberg
66: Jake Canada
67: Tyler Bowers
68: Chris Blose
69: Levi Kilbarger
70: Brady Kiesel
71: Zachary Bell
72: Daniel Herrlein
73: Dillan Epstein
74: Steven Clarke
75*: Josh Slope
76: Max Anstie
77: Jimmy Albertson
78: Matt Lemoine
79: Thomas Zimmer
80: Fredrik Noren
81: Josh Cachia
82: Kyle Partridge
83: Dakota Tedder
84: Scott Champion
85: Nico Izzi
86: Derek Anderson
87: Shane McElrath
88: Jesse Wentland
89: Michael Leib
90: Jean Ramos
91: Jacob Baumert
92: Killian Rusk
93: Adam Gulley
94*: Ken Roczen
95: Evgeny Mikhaylov
96: Matt Bisceglia
97: Topher Ingalls
98: Broc Schmelyun
99: Mr. bieber Starling
800*: Mike Alessi


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

There are no comments yet, be the first to say something

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>